WSB Season VII Draw confirms Group Stage schedule across three zones

The Draw for Season VII of boxing’s unique team competition the World Series of Boxing was held in Geneva on Wednesday morning (30 November), with acting AIBA Executive Director William Louis-Marie joined by Pat McCormack, Light Welterweight with last year’s runners up British Lionhearts, for the drawing of the teams.


I’m still unbeaten at WSB and I’m looking to keep it that way. I got Boxer of the Week 6 last year and I can’t wait for the new season to start and to get underway. Last year the team did really well to get to the final and hopefully this time we’ll go all the way,” said Britain’s Pat McCormack.

With the format for Season VII seeing the 12 teams split into three geographical zones; Americas, Europe/Africa and Asia, the draw established the fixture schedule for the preliminary stage running from February to April 2017. Group A consists of Argentina Condors, Season VI champions Cuba Domadores, Colombia Heroicos and Venezuela Caciques, Group B features Morocco Atlas Lions, Italia Thunder, France Boxing Team and British Lionhearts, and Group C sees Russian Boxing Team, China Dragons, Astana Arlans Kazakhstan and Uzbek Tigers facing each other for a place in the Play-Offs.

In the event of a 5-5 draw in any of the Play-Offs, all ten weight categories were also drawn to determine which weight would box in a tie-break. The Super Heavyweight (91+kg) will define the Quarter-Finals, and the Flyweight (52kg) the Semi-Finals and Finals. The first bouts of Season VII are scheduled to take place in February, with the Play-Offs beginning in May and the Final in June. The result of the Draw is as follows: