Cuba Domadores win Team of the Season award following incredible WSB Season VI campaign

In their third season participating in the World Series of Boxing, the mighty Cuba Domadores won their second Team Championship title in fine style against the British Lionhearts in Tashkent on June 4. The culmination of a near-flawless campaign during which they amassed an incredible 56-4 record including ten 5-0 whitewashes in twelve matches, the performance has earned the franchise the Season VI Team of the Season.

In an important Olympic year, it was a typically strong line-up that took to the ring for the team’s season-opener against Türkiye Conquerors in Istanbul. Featuring the likes of three-time World Champions Julio La Cruz and Lazaro Alvarez and Olympic Champion Roniel Iglesias, a 5-0 win set the tone for a campaign in which the style and desire of the Domadores left them almost untouchable as the franchise topped Group A, dropping just three bouts during the preliminary stages.

The Mexico Guerreros travelled to Havana for the Quarter-Finals on April 21-22, but despite the best efforts of Raul Curiel and his team, the Domadores were once again in uncompromising mood, powering into the semis with a 10-0 win. WSB newcomers the Uzbek Tigers then hoped to cap a remarkable debut season with a Semi-Final surprise in Cuba on May 5-6, but met the same brand of flamboyant brilliance and the same scoreline after ten gruelling bouts against a fearless Cuban side that had truly found its rhythm.

The blockbuster Season VI Team Finals in Uzbekistan capital, Tashkent saw the British Lionhearts try valiantly to stop the Cuban steam train with a team that had come to terms with the five-round format and developed a host of exciting young talent with the ability to challenge the Domadores. A bold start and some stirring performances weren’t enough to overcome a star-studded Cuban side, however, and while the 9-1 victory didn’t fully reflect the Lionhearts’ efforts, it was the Domadores who once again dominated.

Cuba’s first-choice Season VI line-up looked like a who’s who of champions, featuring Joahnys  Argilagos (49kg), Yosbany Veitia (52kg), Robeisy Ramirez (56kg), Lazaro Alvarez (60kg), Yasnier Toledo Lopez (64kg), Roniel Iglesias (69kg), Arlen Lopez (75kg), Julio Cesar La Cruz (81kg), Erislandy Savon (91kg) and Leinier Pero (+91kg). Some notable performances from the rest of the squad also saw the likes of Santiago Amador (49kg), Javier Ibanez (56kg), Armando Martinez (60kg), Luis Oliva (64kg), Kevin Brown (64kg) and Yoandi Toirac (+91kg) establish themselves as names to watch for the future.