WSB Group C opener sees reinforced Rafako Hussars Poland host Caciques Venezuela in Warsaw

Following last weekend’s thrilling curtain-raiser in Istanbul, World Series of Boxing Season VI continues on Friday night as Rafako Hussars Poland take on Caciques Venezuela at the Hala Znicz Pruzkow stadium in Warsaw.

The home side had a tough time in Season V, but a valuable middleweight treasure was unearthed along the way in the form of Tomasz Jablonski, whose brilliant 6-1 record qualified him for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Last season also saw the debut of their opponents for Friday, Caciques Venezuela. The South Americans created quite a stir, winning eight out of fourteen matches on their way to finishing fourth in their group, only missing out on qualifying for the knockout stages by the narrowest of margins.

The Polish outfit made its intentions for the new campaign perfectly clear at December’s Draft in Lausanne, strengthening the squad with the likes of Italian bantamweight Riccardo D’Andrea and Germany’s European Games light welterweight bronze medalist Kastriot Sopa. D’Andrea will face Venezuela’s Jose Diaz in Warsaw, while Sopa will need to be on top form to beat the visitors’ American Confederation Boxing Championships silver medallist Luis Arcon, winner of three intense WSB matches during Season V.

The night will get underway with what is set to be a spectacular opening bout between the home side’s talented light flyweight Dawid Jagodzinski and Angelino Rafael Cordova, winner of the Francisco Morochito Rodriguez Tournament in November. With Poland’s middleweight star Tomasz Jablonski disappointed to be missing out through injury, Pawel Ruminski comes into the side for what will be a tricky WSB debut against Johan Jose Gonzalez, silver medalist at the recent Rio 2016 Olympic Games Test Event.

Rounding off the night will be Rafako Hussars Poland’s Michal Olas, moving back to his preferred heavyweight class, and Caciques Venezuela’s hard-hitting Colombian Deivis Julio Blanco, gold medal winner at the 2013 American Confederation Boxing Championships.