WSB stars shine at AIBA World Boxing Championships 2015 in Doha

WSB boxers dominated the first night of finals at the World Championships in Doha, with Cuba Domadores’ Joahnys Argilagos and Arlen Lopez taking the light fly and middleweight titles on Wednesday evening. Team-mate Erislandy Savon narrowly missed out as he lost the heavyweight title match to Russian Boxing Team’s Evgeny Tishchenko, before Italia Thunder’s Michael Conlan won his bantamweight bout, Ireland’s first ever AIBA World title.

Thursday evening saw the second session of finals, with Baku Fires’ Elvin Mamishzada and Albert Selimov standing in the way of two more Domadores – Yosbany Veitia and Lazaro Alvarez’s – pursuit of gold. Mamishzada was ruthless as he secured a hard-fought victory, but Alvarez was in devastating form, taking a third successive lightweight World Championship title.

Domadores’ AIBA Boxer of the Year Julio La Cruz and WSB Boxer of the Year Mohammed Rabii lit up the Doha arena as they took gold the light heavyweight and welterweight titles respectively, the Cuban captain’s third successive World Championship win.